Skip To Main Content

Curriculum & Instruction

The Curriculum and Instruction department plays a pivotal role in shaping the educational experiences and outcomes of students in the Ladue School District. Its primary focus is on designing, implementing, and monitoring curriculum and instructional practices to ensure high-quality education across all grade levels. The department stays informed about educational research, trends, and innovative practices and continuously seeks ways to improve curriculum and instruction based on the latest insights in education. 

The Curriculum and Instruction Department is responsible for the following:

  • Curriculum Development: The department is responsible for creating and revising the district's curriculum frameworks, which outline the scope and sequence of content and skills to be taught at each grade level. This involves aligning curriculum with state standards, educational best practices, and the district's educational goals.​​​​​​
  • Instructional Design: The department collaborates with educators to design instructional materials, resources, and strategies that support effective teaching and learning. This includes developing unit plans and assessments that align with the curriculum standards and objectives.
  • Professional Development: The department organizes and facilitates professional development opportunities for teachers and staff. These sessions provide educators with the knowledge and skills needed to effectively implement the curriculum and instructional strategies. 
  • Data Analysis: The department gathers and analyzes student performance data from assessments and standardized tests. This data helps educators identify trends, strengths, and areas for improvement in curriculum and instruction. Data analysis informs decision-making to enhance teaching practices and student learning outcomes.​​​​
  • Instructional Coaching: Instructional coaches provide one-on-one or small-group support to teachers. They offer feedback, model effective teaching practices, and provide guidance on incorporating innovative instructional strategies into the classroom.
  • Educational Technology Integration: The department works with the technology department to explore and recommend the integration of educational technology tools and resources that enhance teaching and learning. This includes recommending software, apps, online platforms, and interactive resources that align with the curriculum.
  • Differentiation and Inclusion: The department supports educators in implementing strategies to differentiate instruction for diverse learners, including students with special needs, English language learners, and gifted students. They promote inclusive practices that cater to the individual needs of all students.
  • Assessment and Evaluation: The department designs and administers formative and summative assessments to measure student progress and mastery of learning objectives. This includes designing valid and reliable assessments that provide valuable insights into student learning.

Meet Our Team

Dr. Amy Zielinski

Dr. Amy Zielinski
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction
(314) 983-5305
azielinski@ladueschools.net

Alexandra Schmidt

Alexandra Schmidt
Administrative Assistant
(314) 983-5305
aschmidt@ladueschools.net

Joy Rhodeman

Joy Rhodeman
Administrative Assistant
(314) 983-5304
jrhodeman@ladueschools.net

Curriculum Coordinators

Dr. Kevin McColgan

Dr. Kevin McColgan
STEM Coordinator
kmccolgan@ladueschools.net

Melissa Andersen

Melissa Andersen
ELA and Social Studies Curriculum Coordinator
mandersen@ladueschools.net

Brooke Bilby

Brooke Bilby
Gifted Coordinator
bbilby@ladueschools.net

Equity Coordinator

Dr. Jennifer Riesenmy

Dr. Jennifer Riesenmy
jriesenmy@ladueschools.net

Assessment Specialist

Brian Beracha

Brian Beracha
bberacha@ladueschools.net

Instructional Coaches

Stacy Alvord
salvord@ladueschools.net

Leah Crawford
lcrawford@ladueschools.net

Robyn Haug
rhaug@ladueschools.net

Angela Kelly
akelly@ladueschools.net

Teressa Kindle
tkindle@ladueschools.net