Tag Archives: Awards

St. Louis Rams Player Presents Two Awards to Ladue Middle School

St. Louis Rams tackle, Rodger Saffold was at Ladue Middle School on Monday, May 6, 2013 to present students with not one, but two achievement awards.

Early Childhood Center Finalist for Keystone Award

The Ladue Early Childhood Center is a finalist for Associated General Contractors of America Keystone Award.  This program honors the achievements of St. Louis construction firms and their employees in building facilities that support and enhance the quality of life in Greater St. Louis.   The general contractor for the Ladue Early Childhood Center, as well as for all other recent building projects int he Ladue School District is S.M. Wilson.

Ladue Middle School Named Missouri School of Character

Ladue Middle School is one of 12 schools from the St. Louis metropolitan region to have earned distinction as a 2012 Missouri School of Character.   The program is conducted by CHARACTERplus®, a division of Cooperating School Districts, and is the most rigorous award process in the field of character education. 

Students Represent LHWHS at National Tournament

Emily Bell (senior) and David Abraham (junior) represented Ladue Horton Watkins High school and the Talking Rams (LHWHS speech and debate team) at George Mason University’s speech and debate tournament, held on December 3rd and 4th. In a tournament with over 100 schools and 1,600 entries, Emily and David were both recognized at the awards ceremony.

LHWHS Habitat for Humanity Charter Finalist in SUBWAY® High School Heroes II Competition

As one of the high school groups receiving the most votes in the nation in SUBWAY’s High School Heroes II Competition, Ladue Horton Watkins High School’s Habitat for Humanity Charter is now a finalist, competing to win up to $20,000.   The Ladue Schools Habitat for Humanity Charter is the only such charter held by a school in Missouri, and one of only a few in the nation.  The finalist positions went to the four organizations in various school population categories receiving the most votes for their work as “heroes” during a national online public voting period.

Excellence in Education – October 2011

Ladue Middle School math teacher, Evy Bickel, is recognized by the Ladue School District, as this month’s “Excellence in Education” award winner.

Tim Beirne Recognized as Peabody Energy Leader in Education

On Tuesday, November 1, 2011, Reed Elementary School custodian, Tim Beirne was presented with the Peabody Energy Leader in Education award.

The Peabody Energy Leaders in Education program supports educators who foster the future workforce and prepare students to compete in a global marketplace. This important investment helps to strengthen education for the next generation.

LHWHS Link Crew Hosts Regional Conference

On October 13th, Ladue Horton Watkins High School played host to over 200 students from surrounding Missouri and Indiana schools for a special Link Crew Conference.

Link Crew serves as a program that assists transitioning freshmen students from middle school to high school. The goal is to “link” each freshman with one or more upper-classmen who can act as mentors during the 9th graders’ early weeks of high school, and beyond. The freshmen automatically become connected to the school in ways that might otherwise have been unthinkable.

LHWHS Broadcast Technology Instructor Wins Media Literacy Award

Don Goble, Ladue School District’s Broadcast Technology and Film Instructor, will receive the Gateway Media Literacy Partners GMLP Charles Klotzer Media Literacy Award at the opening session of the organization’s literacy week on November 6, 2011.

Dr. Eric Hahn Recognized as Peabody Energy Leader in Education

One educator can make a profound difference. Educators inspire, guide, teach and lead. They also transform lives.  By honoring education professionals – from teachers and coaches to librarians and counselors – Peabody Energy recognizes the heroes in education who help children achieve their true potential.  On Monday, October 17, 2011, Ladue Horton Watkins High School social studies teacher Dr. Eric Hahn was presented with the Peabody Energy Leader in Education award.

The Leaders in Education program rewards dedicated and compassionate educational professionals with grants and recognition at an annual dinner reception. Award recipients are selected throughout the school year by a committee of top educators and business leaders and each earn a $1,000 grant.