Ladue Middle School Students Hold Memorial for Lives Lost in Parkland, Florida

On Wednesday morning, our middle school students held a moving demonstration to join together in support of the 17 lives lost in Parkland, Florida. All three grades walked out to the field More »

Broadcast Students’ Video to be Aired on KSDK

Congratulations to LHWHS seniors Kaycee Little and Jaylen Sykes for being the school’s winners in the KSDK/Gateway STEM/Ladue “Pair & Share Program.” For the last 15 years, students from LHWHS and Gateway More »

Six Talking Rams Team Members Heading to National Tournament

The speech and debate team competed in the Eastern Missouri District Speech and Debate Tournament, and took home several awards! The team took 7th in Speech Sweepstakes, 1st in Congress Sweepstakes, 1st More »

Ladue High School Chorale Students Recognized for Outstanding Performances

The Ladue High School Chorale students have been recognized for outstanding performances in the last week. Five students from the Ladue High School Chorale participated in the St. Louis Suburban District Music More »

High School Catering Connection Club Takes on Run and Run S’more Event

Congratulations to the Ladue Horton Watkins High School’s Catering Connection Club for their performance at the Run and Run S’more event! The students worked tirelessly through the three days leading up to More »

LHWHS Students Take Top Two Places at 2018 St. Louis Brain Bee

Akhil Kondepudi, a junior at Ladue Horton Watkins High School, won the 2018 St. Louis Brain Bee, an annual neuroscience competition held at Washington University in St. Louis! The second place winner More »

Spoede Fourth Grader Competing on MasterChef Junior

Any MasterChef Junior fans? A Spoede Elementary student has become a TV star! Fourth grader Juelz Bugg made the top 24 chefs for Season 6! The season premiere of the show aired More »

LHWHS Science Olympiad Team Places 19th in Nation

In May, 2012, the Ladue Horton Watkins High School Science Olympiad Team competed against 60 schools across the country at the National Tournament.  The tournament was hosted by the University of Central Florida in Orlando, FL.   The team placed 19th overall.  

Spoede’s Johnson Honored as Top Teacher by Panera

Recently, Saint Louis Bread Co./Panera hosted a Top Teacher contest locally in St. Louis, with a call for nominations of the city’s best teachers.  Over 4,500 nominations were received, and from those one winner was chosen and four additional teachers were honored.  Jennifer Johnson, Second Grade Teacher at Spoede Elementary School, received one of those four honors.

Reed Elementary and District Recognized for Heart Association Contributions

On May 19, 2012, Reed Elementary School, and the Ladue School District were recognized for their contributions to the American Heart Association.  The American Heart Association’s Heart Walk took place at Busch Stadium where a number of top companies were honored on the field.  Only one school — Reed Elementary School – was included and  honored for being the top school  in Missouri.  In addition, the Ladue School District was noted for being the top district in the state in raising donations in the Jump Rope/Hoops for Heart campaign.

LHWHS Liu to Compete for Spot on U.S. Chemistry Olympiad Team

ST. LOUIS, May 10, 2012 — National chemistry champion Runpeng Liu has qualified to compete for one of four spots on the U.S. team bound for the 44th annual International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO).  A sophomore at Ladue Horton Watkins High School, he is one of only 20 students nation-wide invited to a two-week intensive study camp at the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado. 

LHWHS Freshmen Win Missouri Poetry Contest

Sarah Jacob and Katharine Ross, both freshmen at Ladue Horton Watkins High School were two of ten students in Missouri to win recognition in the 2012 Missouri State Poetry Society’s Winter Contest 2012 Youth Division.  Jacob’s poem is entitled A Beaty that Remains and Ross’ poem is entitled Earth. These students received cash prizes, as well as certificates.

Cockerline Receives April, 2012 Excellence in Education Award

Sarah Cockerline was presented with the April 2012 Excellence in Education Award at the April 23, 2012 Board of Education meeting.  Sarah considers Kirkwood, MO her hometown and has been working in the Ladue School District since 1992, having started as a Kindergarten teacher.  Sarah currently teaches in the Learning Lab at Spoede Elementary School.

Hagan Receives March 2012 Excellence in Education Award

Roy Hagan was the March 2012 recipient of the Ladue School District’s Excellence in Education Award presented at the April 9, 2012 Board of Education meeting.  Roy is from Harrisburg, Illinois and began teaching in the Ladue School District in 1991 as a Fourth Grade teacher at Reed Elementary School and has been at Reed for all of the 21 years since.  Roy currently teaches Fifth Grade at Reed Elementary School.  

2012 Commencement Speeches

Click the links below to see and hear the presentations given at the 2012 graduation ceremony.

Opening Comments: Principal Dr. Bridget Hermann

Welcome:  2012 Graduate Sayli Sant

Superintendent’s Welcome:  Superintendent Dr. Marsha Chappelow

Address to the Class:  2012 Graduate Caleb Ellis

Presentation of the Class Gift:  2012 Graduate Lucas Tamaren

Charge to the Class:  Ladue Schools Board of Education President Jayne Langsam

Garrett Again Selected as Suburban East Coach of the Year

For the third year in a row, Ladue Varsity Baseball Head Coach Rob Garrett was selected as the Suburban East Coach of the Year.  This is Coach Garrett’s third consecutive Coach of the Year award.  Coach Garrett has led the Varsity Baseball team to 75 wins and 4 Conference Championships during his four years as head coach.  Coach Garrett is also the physical education teacher at Spoede Elementary School.

LHWHS Rogers Receives Bonhomme Lions Scholarship

Ladue Horton Watkins High School Senior Mary Jane Rogers was honored on April 26, 2012 as the recipient of the Special School District 2012 Bonhomme Lions Scholarship.  Recipients are chosen based on their achievements in academics, arts, athletics and/or community service.