Category Archives: Students

“Mr. Nice Guy”, Eddie Mungai, Named Mr. Ladue

Mungai Eddie Mr. Ladue

Contest/Fundraiser Takes Habitat for Humanity Contributions Over the $25,000 Mark

On March 12, 2013 the fifth annual “Mr. Ladue Contest” was held at Ladue Horton Watkins High School Performing Arts Center with senior Eddie Mungai winning the coveted title.  Twenty-nine young men, chosen by their coaches and club sponsors, competed through interpretive ribbon dancing, improvisation, karaoke, synchronized dance and the all-important final question.  It was all in good fun, and also for a very good cause.  The money raised through ticket sales will go directly to Habitat for Humanity and this year’s earnings took the high school’s Habitat for Humanity Chapter over the $25,000 mark in fund raising over the life of the “Mr. Ladue” event.

Rams and CHARACTERplus Name 2013 Character Fitness Model Schools

The following news release was provided by the St. Louis Rams and can be read online at

The St. Louis Rams and CHARACTERplus, an initiative of the Cooperating School Districts, today announced this year’s Character Fitness Model Schools. Ladue Middle School in the Ladue School District, Point Elementary School in the Mehlville School District and Woerther Elementary School in the Rockwood School District were selected as the 2013 Character Fitness Model Schools.

LHWHS and LMS Science Olympiad Teams Win First in State

2013 LHWHS Science Olympiad

Students competed in events involving biology, chemistry, physics, astronomy, earth sciences and engineering design.  Engineering events included designing and building a robotic arm, a boom lever, a gravity vehicle and a calorimeter, to name a few.

LHWHS 2013 Science Olympiad Team Members:  Chloe An, Enze Chen, Collin Christner, Emily Chu, Jialin Ding, Runpeng Liu, Yang Liu, Allison Loynd, Michael Prablek, Rasika Sant, Max Schindler, Kisan Thakkar, Haohang Xu, Ben Zhang, Eric Zhu, Toby Zhu

LHWHS Second in U.S. in Online Math Competition

Math Madness

Ladue Horton Watkins High School (LHWHS) recently placed second in a national pilot test of the Interstellar online math competition associated with American Mathematic Competitions (AMC).   LHWHS’ team was comprised of Yang Liu (sophomore), Max Schindler (senior), and Victor Wang (senior.)

Read the full story as it appeared in USA Today on March 24, 2013…

LHWHS Students Participate in HEC-TV/Fox 2 Weather Presentation

LHWHS Weather Presentation

HEC-TV is partnering with KTVI Fox 2 to present a very special HEC-TV Live! program on April 4,2013 about the science behind weather forecasting.  During the live show, students will have the opportunity to interact with St. Louis’ KTVI Fox 2 Meteorologist Chris Higgins to take a tour of his weather studio and find out what goes into creating a forecast.

Read the full story…

See the news report about the show after it aired …

See the show:  The Science Behind: Weather Forecasting

Spoede Wins Missouri State Chess Tournament

Spoede MO State Chess 1

Over the weekend of March 9-10, 2013, Spoede Elementary School students participated, and won first place, in the Missouri State Chess Tournaments in two categories:  Third Grade and Under, and Fifth Grade and Under.  These wins qualifies the team to participate in the National Championship in Nashville, TN in April.

LHWHS Panorama Staff Excels at School Publications Conference

On March 11, 2013, student writers for the Ladue Horton Watkins High School newspaper, Panorama, attended the Sponsors of School Publications regional conference at Webster University.  Judges from around the national scholastic journalism field critiqued their work.

Five Speech and Debate Students Qualify for State at District Tournament

On March 2, 2013, the Ladue Horton Watkins High School Speech and Debate Team participated in District tournaments, with five students qualifying for the state competition.
  • Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking: Sarah Allen – 2nd place
  • Original Oratory: Jerome Gregory – 3rd place
  • Radio Speaking: Emily Chu – 4th place
  • Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Jerome Gregory – semifinalist; and Haohang Xu – 2nd place