Category Archives: A Salute To Ladue Staff

Tim Beirne Recognized as Peabody Energy Leader in Education

On Tuesday, November 1, 2011, Reed Elementary School custodian, Tim Beirne was presented with the Peabody Energy Leader in Education award.

The Peabody Energy Leaders in Education program supports educators who foster the future workforce and prepare students to compete in a global marketplace. This important investment helps to strengthen education for the next generation.

Petty-Rice Appointed to Promethean Advisory Council

Tina Petty-Rice, Administrative Intern at Spoede Elementary School is one of twelve educators across the country, and the only educator from Missouri, to participate in the Promethean Administrator Advisory Council.  Promethean is a world leader in the rapidly growing global market for interactive learning technology.

The council is made up of individuals who have decision-making authority or major influence with technology purchases and implementations in their district. The Advisory Council serves as an action-oriented, consulting body used to convey customer needs and provide input and insight on Promethean’s offerings. The council is comprised of both large and small educational organizations in order for diverse feedback across a multitude of educational systems to be shared.

LHWHS Broadcast Technology Instructor Wins Media Literacy Award

Don Goble, Ladue School District’s Broadcast Technology and Film Instructor, will receive the Gateway Media Literacy Partners GMLP Charles Klotzer Media Literacy Award at the opening session of the organization’s literacy week on November 6, 2011.

Dr. Eric Hahn Recognized as Peabody Energy Leader in Education

One educator can make a profound difference. Educators inspire, guide, teach and lead. They also transform lives.  By honoring education professionals – from teachers and coaches to librarians and counselors – Peabody Energy recognizes the heroes in education who help children achieve their true potential.  On Monday, October 17, 2011, Ladue Horton Watkins High School social studies teacher Dr. Eric Hahn was presented with the Peabody Energy Leader in Education award.

The Leaders in Education program rewards dedicated and compassionate educational professionals with grants and recognition at an annual dinner reception. Award recipients are selected throughout the school year by a committee of top educators and business leaders and each earn a $1,000 grant.

Evy Bickel Awarded October 2011 Excellence in Education Award

Evy Bickel, a sixth grade math teacher at Ladue Middle School was presented with the October Excellence in Education Award at the Board of Education Meeting on September 26, 2011.

LHWHS Teachers Wow the Crowd at Homecoming Pep Rally

Once again, Ladue Schools’ high school teachers busted out their dance moves. This time at the 2011 Homecoming Pep Assembly. Check out the video!

Carolyn Parham Awarded September 2011 Excellence in Education Award

Excellence In Education - Carolyn Parham

Carolyn Parham, a second grade teacher at Conway Elementary School was presented with the September 2011 Excellence in Education Award at the Board of Education Meeting on September 26, 2011.

Mrs. Parham was born in St. Louis and has been a teacher in the Ladue School District since 1991.  She started her work in the district as a fifth grade teacher at Conway Elementary School, and has been a second grade teacher for many years now.

Convocation Videos 2011

Convocation is an annual program held first thing in the morning on the first day all teachers return to begin the new school year.  The 2011 Convocation was presented in a talk-show format showcasing the amazing talents and energy of four Ladue Horton Watkins High School Students who hosted ‘Due Talk.  Many thanks to Jody Peterson, Jehu Chesson, Alex Mitchell and David Streid who helped the district start the school year off right.

Two videos were created for Convocation this year.  You’ll want to see the annual “Convocation Video” which showcases many of our faculty members in action, as well as “Teachers Hobbies” which uncovers some of the many hidden talents of our staff.

Reed Teacher Patricia Whittaker Attends LEGO® Robotics Conference

Patricia Whittaker LEGO Conference

Patricia Whittaker (center in photo with credit to Jerry Naunheim of Washington University) teaches the gifted program at Reed Elementary School with Karen Engelkenjohn.  In June, Ms. Whittaker was one of some 75 St. Louis educators to attend this one-day conference to explore using LEGOs to engage students in learning science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).  The teachers built and programmed robots using LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT software.

LHWHS Dancing Teachers Goes Viral

School Spirit Faculty Dance

2010 Graduate of Ladue Horton Watkins High School Abby Sophir produced this music video, in which nearly the entire high school faculty busted out their best dance moves to celebrate the 2010 senior class.  As of September 19, 2011, there were 10,171 viewings on and 9,878 people viewings on  Watch it again now… You know you want to!